Making bee hive boxes: getting ready for a busy spring

Posted on Updated on

New finger-jointed boxes, ready for painting.
New finger-jointed boxes, ready for painting.

Spring is a busy time for beekeeping, so it pays to be prepared. And with a warm winter, and a week of much-needed rain, there’s every sign that things will be taking off early this year in Sydney.

So for the last few weekends, I’ve been making bee hive boxes, hive lids, plus extra bases. (All for Warré hives, otherwise I could just buy new boxes.)

For the boxes, I’m finger jointing them, using the new jig that I’ve purchased for my router table. As first attempts, they’re not great joints, but practice makes perfect! The bees will plug up any gaps with propolis in any case… 😉

My plan is also to scale up this year, so I have enough honey to meet the needs of our two local cafes.

In addition to a few more hives at our house, several friends have expressed interest in having a hive in their backyard. So I’ll be doing all the setup and management, and we’ll put in place a produce-sharing arrangement. 🙂

Onwards to spring!

One thought on “Making bee hive boxes: getting ready for a busy spring

    solarbeez said:
    August 25, 2014 at 1:24 pm

    Nice work. I’ve got a router, but no table…I might have to get one.
    Are you going to put in an observation window? They are great to have. I get to look at my bees every evening that way. Here’s a short video on me opening up the hinged cover in back…at about the 34 second mark. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XuFz2FycOo&list=UUlvH56M-JBGq3DMe5jFsvLQ
    It’s fun to watch the natural comb being built up.

Leave a Reply

