Our first beeswax

Posted on

Our first block of beeswax (fork just for scale -- not for eating!)
Our first block of beeswax (fork just for scale — not for eating!)

One of the upsides of our hive catastrophe is that it provided a lot of honeycomb. After the honey was harvested, the rest was ready to be processed into beeswax.

There were a few steps in the process, including the use of our home-built solar wax melter (the topic of a future post). The photo above shows the final result.

It’s a lovely yellow colour, and hopefully pretty pure. Now we just have to work out what to do with it!

Possibilities include:

  • beeswax candles
  • lip balm
  • ointments (combined with various essential oils, etc)
  • furniture wax

Any other suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Our first beeswax

    Gerry Heaton said:
    December 8, 2013 at 9:53 am

    James, well done, impressive. I hope I get to do the same. It may have to be next year after my inspection today.

    solarbeez said:
    December 9, 2013 at 1:33 pm

    That is beautiful wax. Keep some to melt into your swarm bait box next year if you want to attract swarms.
    We are going through a long period of sub freezing temperatures. I looked at the temperature of the inside of my ‘weak hive.’ It read 30F. (-1C) I guess that’s a goner. 😦 I’ll be looking for some swarms next year not only for myself, but for others that I have promised to…I get the first one tho.
    Old combs, bees wax, lemon grass oil seems to be the operative words for success.

Leave a Reply

