First check on our honey bees

Posted on Updated on

Opening the lid reveals a hive packed with bees
Opening the lid reveals a hive packed with bees

It’s been a week since the package of bees was introduced into the hive. Had the queen been successfully freed? Was the hive progressing as it should be?

After a week, I could wait no longer. With a warm morning, and the bees busy foraging, I opened up the hive.

The bees are already laying down comb.
The bees are already laying down comb.

In just a week, the bees have constructed clean white sheets of comb on all the frames. The longest of which is already almost to the bottom of the box.

No brood (new bees) as yet that I could see, but it’s early days. As a complete novice, it’s hard for me to know whether all is well, but I’m taking what I saw as a good sign 🙂

(PS. apologies for the restricted photo above. The comb is very soft at this early stage, and surprisingly heavy. So I had difficulty easing out the frame with one hand, while holding the camera with the other.)

As always, the bees were busy but unconcerned about my presence. There was no need to smoke the hive, and I wore my hood but not my gloves. Touch wood, still no bee stings!

Leave a Reply

