Onions in three colours

Posted on

Red, white and brown onions of all sizes

These are the last of our onion harvest. In all we harvested several dozen onions, with a mix of red, white and brown varieties.

A reasonable haul, but I was hoping for many more. Looking back, I made several mistakes:

  • Uncharacteristically, I planted too few. Unlike plants like silverbeet which I consistently over-plant, I could easily have fitted in twice or three times the number of onions into the available space.
  • I planted them too early. Only afterwards did I read that onions should be planted after the shortest day of the year, so many of the onions peaked too soon, at a small size. No matter, these were treated as pickling onions, and were wonderful in beef stews, etc.

Taking these lessons on board, I’m going to allocate more space to onions this year, and hope to have a bumper crop!

2 thoughts on “Onions in three colours

    biggreencoat said:
    February 27, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    Are you planting garlic too? Mum grows fantastic garlic, I’m always begging more off her.
    (except for now, as my allium aversion continues 🙂

      James responded:
      March 3, 2010 at 6:42 pm

      Yes, definitely garlic this year! I’ve received some home-grown garlic heads from my father, and have them stored under the house until the cooler weather… 🙂

Leave a Reply

