Bush beans coming up

Posted on Updated on

Bush beans rapidly growing in size
Bush beans rapidly growing in size

Despite the earlier bad news, the first of our bush beans are pushing themselves forcefully out of the ground. They are a week late, so perhaps seed storage in the fridge put them into a dormant state, rather than killing them outright.

One lonely pumpkin has also come up, which I’ve supplemented with two others that have sprung up out of our compost. Spring is definitely here…

2 thoughts on “Bush beans coming up

    Marie-Laure said:
    September 9, 2009 at 10:52 am

    That’s good news! I’ve wondered about that fridge storing of seeds, but not done it myself – just kept in a cool dark place.

    I was going to commiserate with you on yr previous post, as my rhubarb seeds have done nothing – my 3rd attempt, so think I must be doing something wrong! Have enough seeds left for one last attempt, so I’ll borrow a bit of your luck please 😉

      James responded:
      September 9, 2009 at 10:54 am

      I confess that we got our rhubarb as small plants, which went straight into the ground. I know it’s cheating, but they’re growing strong, and now we just have to wait another year until we can harvest them… 🙂

Leave a Reply

