Rhubarb plants

Posted on

Four rhubarb plants, ready to be planted into the ground
Four rhubarb plants, ready to be planted into the ground

I’ve been cooking a bit with rhubarb recently, including a home-made rhubarb-and-apple pie  last weekend (yum!). I’ve wanted to grow fresh rhubarb for some time now, so last week I ordered four plants from Greenpatch Organic Seeds. Four working days later, they arrived!.

I planted them into the front corner of the garden this afternoon, in between showers of rain. They should be able to grow happily there without getting in the way of anything else. I also don’t think they’ll be very appealing for light-fingered passer-byers.

While I was in hurry to order the plants, I’ll now have to wait. All my gardening books say that rhubarb can’t be harvested in the first growing season, making it two years before we’ll be able to savour the red stalks. They say patience is good for the soul, ask me in two years…

3 thoughts on “Rhubarb plants

    Marie-Laure said:
    June 1, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Good luck with the rhubarb – am hoping to plant rhubarb myself soon – but need to prepare the bed first. I’m doing a raised bed as our soil is very poor and it will also hopefully keep the brush turkeys from scratching about!

    Re previous post on gardening blogs, I haven’t come across any…so was pleased to find yours. I wonder if people don’t have much time for blogging? In fact, am surprised James, that you even have a spare 15 mins for gardening never mind blogs, with all your professional work & travelling!

      James responded:
      June 1, 2009 at 1:38 pm

      Well at least I don’t have to content with brush turkeys, just the local cats! I’ve had to pull a lot of building rubble out of our soil: whole house bricks, tiles, slate, bottles, pipes, the lot. Like you, I’ve therefore mostly relied on raised beds. The rhubarb have gone straight into the soil (with a bit of compost), so we’ll see how they go…

      And as for the blogging, it seems like it’s a personal addiction. It’s also due to my natural inclination to make everything into a campaign for change, in this case, greening the inner-city… 🙂

      Good luck with the rhubarb!

    Simon Ashley said:
    June 5, 2009 at 6:17 pm

    Great Blog James

    Good luck with the rhubarb. It’s delicious, but beware once it gets established there is no getting rid of it. Fighting a pitched battle with my “clump” for the last ten years, trying to stop it taking over.

    When do you get the chucks?

Leave a Reply

